Latest Posts

New AAUP Oregon Officers Elected

  Mar 30, 2021     320 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Ballots for AAUP Oregon's Executive Committee Officers closed March 29 at 5 PM. Thank you to everyone who ran and to everyone who voted in this year's elections! I am happy to announce the results are as follows: President:Ramin Farahmandpur, Portland State University - AAUP Secretary:Mark Clark, Oregon Tech  AAUP Vice President for Academic Freedom and Governance:David Luebke, United Academics of the University of Oregon Advocate for Academic Professionals:Alyssa Plesser, Portland State University - AAUP Advocate for Advocacy Chapters:Sharon Bailey Glasco, Linfield University AAUP Congratulations to all the winning candidates! New officers will be seated in July, and I can't…

View More

UPDATE: Potential Strike at Oregon Tech

  Mar 29, 2021     316 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Friends and colleagues of AAUP Oregon:As you may know, the administration at Oregon Institute of Technology declared impasse with Oregon Tech AAUP faculty on March 10. The two parties are still engaged in mediated negotiations through the cooling off period, but their faculty are planning for the worst possible scenario following a final offer from their administration which, among other things, proposed:- Merit-only salary increases- A 10% reduction of insurance premium coverage for faculty with families- Any insurance premium cost increases borne solely by faculty- The potential for administration to leave PEBB for another insurer each year- A workload policy…

View More